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ADMISSION ON MOTION 

FILING INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION 

Thank you for your interest in applying for admission by motion to the Wyoming State Bar.  Before 

you begin completing the application forms, you have an obligation to read the Rules and 

Procedures Governing Admission to the Practice of Law and this document.  Do not leave this to 

others; it is up to you to file a complete application (incomplete applications will NOT be 

accepted).  

THE BASICS 

Wyoming does not have a formal reciprocity agreement with any state.   In Wyoming an applicant 

is considered eligible for admission on motion if they meet all the requirements of the Rules & 

Procedures Governing Admission to the Practice of Law in Wyoming found in Rules 302 and 303.  

Please read your jurisdiction's rules for admission on motion carefully if you are not sure about 

reciprocity.   You will not be eligible for admission on motion if your jurisdiction does not offer 

admission on motion to members of the Wyoming State Bar, requires an additional exam for 

motion applicants, or if you are licensed but not actively practicing law in any jurisdiction.     

If you apply for admission on motion and it is determined that you are not eligible, you may choose 

to sit for the next scheduled Uniform Bar Examination (UBE) without an additional application 

fee.   However, you will have to satisfy all the requirements of Rule 201. If you choose not to sit 

for the UBE, your application fee is non-refundable.  

There is no specific deadline for filing a motion application.  Complete applications will be filed 

upon receipt and forwarded to the Wyoming State Bar.  Once your application for admission has 

been filed, you can expect the process to take from 4 to 6 months before a recommendation is 

made to the Court.   Once the Board of Law Examiners (Board) and Committee have reviewed the 

application, together with all supporting data and have forwarded its recommendation, the Court 

will act on the recommendation in a timely manner, and you will be notified of that 

recommendation.   

FINALIZING YOUR PETITION AND APPLICATION FOR ADMISSION 

All forms are accessible on the Wyoming Judicial Branch website at www.courts.state.wy.us.   

You will pay a non-refundable $600 fee to the Wyoming Supreme Court at the time your 

application is submitted for filing.  The Court will accept payment by personal check or money 

order.  Because of internal accounting, it may take several weeks before your check clears your 

bank; please ensure there will be adequate funds to process the check until it clears.   

There is an additional, non-refundable fee for the background investigation that is paid directly to 

the NCBE.  The NCBE form may be completed online at www.ncbex.org.   

  

http://www.courts.state.wy.us/
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The following is a checklist of single-sided documents that must be included with your application:   

✓ Original Petition and Application for Admission to the Wyoming State Bar on Motion  

 

✓ Original Wyoming Authorization and Release  

 

✓ Certification of Compliance with Rule 302  

 

✓ Certification of Compliance with Rule 304(b)(ii) - Part 1.   Submit one of the following 

types of certification. 

 

o A Certificate by a judge or hearing officer of a tribunal of record of such other state, 

territory, or district before which the applicant has practiced law; or 

 

o A Certificate by a member in good standing of the Bar of the State of Wyoming for 

at least 10 continuous years that the applicant is a person of good character and 

reputation, and competent legal ability; or 

 

o Two Certificates from any officer of a court in the applicant’s current resident bar, 

provided that no such Certificate shall be submitted by any family member or client 

of the applicant, or by any two individuals within the same firm. 

 

✓ Certification of Compliance with Rule 304(b)(ii) - Part 2.  This form is to be used by 

individuals to complete the Certifications in Part 1. 

 

✓ Certification of Compliance with Rule 304(b)(iii)   

 

✓ A color photocopy of the front of your driver’s license or passport   

 

✓ A $600.00 check or money order made payable to the Clerk of the Wyoming Supreme 

Court.  This fee is separate from the fee paid to the NCBE.  

 

✓ Certificate of Good Standing from the highest court of a State, Commonwealth, Territory 

or Possession, or of the District of Columbia for each jurisdiction in which you are or have 

been admitted.  Certificates must have been issued no more than 90 days before filing your 

application.  Do not submit a Bar Association certificate in place of the court’s certificate, 

your application will be returned.  

 

✓ A copy of your Character and Fitness Application submitted to the NCBE  

 

SEND YOUR COMPLETE APPLICATION TO: 

Clerk, Wyoming Supreme Court 

2301 Capitol Avenue 

Cheyenne, WY 82002 
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YOUR MPRE SCORE 

A scaled score of 85 or higher is required on the MPRE (75 points or greater for MPREs 

administered between Jan 1, 1999 and Oct 1, 2014).  If you previously obtained a passing score, 

you must request a score transfer from the NCBE.  If the date of the applicant’s first admission in 

any jurisdiction was prior to 1999, a certification by the applicant that they obtained a passing 

MPRE score in connection with that admission will suffice.   

ONCE YOUR APPLICATION HAS BEEN FILED 

 When your application has been filed, you will receive a receipt from the Clerk’s office.  It is very 

important to use a mailing address where you regularly and reliably receive mail. Periodic e-mails 

will also be sent to the e-mail address on file for you.  

Once your application is filed, you have a continuing obligation to notify the Wyoming State Bar’s 

Admissions Director of any changes to your application.   This includes but is not limited to any 

change in name, residence, business address, telephone number, e-mail address, employment, or 

attorney membership status in any other jurisdiction. You are also obligated to inform the 

Admissions Director of any denial of admission in another jurisdiction, disciplinary action, 

involvement in any civil or criminal proceeding (including traffic violations), or the recurrence or 

development of any illness or condition which would have a bearing on your fitness to practice 

law. Report these changes on the Amendment to Application form (available at 

www.courts.state.wy.us ) and submit it to the Wyoming State Bar.  You may also be required to 

submit an amendment to the NCBE character report; that form is available at www.ncbex.org. 

QUESTIONS AND ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

I want my application to be filed, what are some common mistakes that prevent filing?   

Number one, by far, is the failure to submit a Certificate of Good Standing from a jurisdiction’s 

highest court.  Letters of Discipline History from a State Bar are not substitutes. 

Submitting an incomplete NCBE Character and Fitness Application or not submitting one at all.   

Submitting photocopies of forms instead of the originals.  

Not using the Checklist provided to assure a complete application is being submitted. 

If I am applying for admission to another state, can I get a copy of my application?  

Yes, you may request a copy of your original application.  Please contact Cathy Duncil, Admissions 

Director, at (307) 432-2105 or by e-mail at cduncil@wyomingbar.org. 

If I graduated from a non-ABA accredited law school, is admission on motion allowed?  

No.  In additional to the Rules Governing Admission to the Practice of Law requirement that an 

applicant have graduated from an ABA accredited school with a J.D., Wyoming Statute §33-5105 

also requires graduation from an ABA accredited school with a juris doctorate.  

 

 

http://www.courts.state.wy.us/
http://www.ncbex.org/
mailto:cduncil@wyomingbar.org
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What if I have questions not addressed in the Questions and Additional Information?  

Questions regarding application documents and filing the application? Please contact the Clerk of 

the Wyoming Supreme Court at (307) 777-7316.  

Questions regarding the admission process?  Please contact Cathy Duncil, Admissions Director, 

Wyoming State Bar at (307) 432-2105 or by e-mail at cduncil@wyomingbar.org.  
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