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ADMISSION OF MILITARY SPOUSE ATTORNEY 

FILING INSTRUCTIONS AND INFORMATION 

Thank you for your interest in applying for admission of Military Spouse Attorney to the Wyoming 

State Bar.  Before you begin completing the application forms, you have an obligation to read the 

Rules and Procedures Governing Admission to the Practice of Law and this document.  Do not 

leave this to others; it is up to you to file a complete application (incomplete applications will NOT 

be accepted).  

THE BASICS 

In Wyoming an applicant is considered eligible for admission as a military spouse if they meet all 

the requirements of the Rules & Procedures Governing Admission to the Practice of Law in 

Wyoming found in Rule 306.  

If you apply for admission as military spouse attorney and it is determined that you are not eligible, 

you may choose to sit for the next scheduled Uniform Bar Exam (UBE) upon satisfying all 

requirements of Rule 201.  

There is no specific deadline for filing an application.  Complete applications will be filed upon 

receipt and forwarded to the Wyoming State Bar.  Once your application for admission has been 

filed, you can expect the process to take from 4 to 6 months before a recommendation is made to 

the Court. Once the Board of Law Examiners (Board) and Committee have reviewed the 

application, together with all supporting data and have forwarded its recommendation, the Court 

will act on the recommendation in a timely manner, and you will be notified of that 

recommendation.   

FINALIZING YOUR PETITION AND APPLICATION FOR ADMISSION 

All forms are accessible on the Wyoming Judicial Branch website at www.courts.state.wy.us. 

You will not be required to pay an application fee to the Wyoming Supreme Court at the time your 

application is submitted for filing.  

There is a non-refundable fee for the background investigation that is paid directly to the NCBE.  

The NCBE form may be completed online at www.ncbex.org. 

The following is a checklist of single-sided documents that must be included with your application:  

✓ Original Petition and Application for Admission as a Military Spouse Attorney to the 

Wyoming State Bar  

 

✓ Original Wyoming Authorization and Release 

 

✓ Certification of Compliance with Rule 306 

 

✓ Certification of Compliance with Rule 306(c)(ii) 

http://www.courts.state.wy.us/
http://www.ncbex.org/
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✓ A color photocopy of the front of your driver’s license or passport 

 

✓ Certificate of Good Standing from the highest court of a State, Commonwealth, Territory 

or Possession, or of the District of Columbia for each jurisdiction in which you are or have 

been admitted.  Certificates must have been issued no more than 90 days before filing your 

application.  Do not submit a Bar Association certificate in place of the court’s certificate.  

 

✓ A copy of the Character and Fitness Application submitted to the NCBE 

 

SEND YOUR COMPLETE APPLICATION TO: 

Clerk, Wyoming Supreme Court 

2301 Capitol Avenue 

Cheyenne, WY 82002 

YOUR MPRE SCORE 

A scaled score of 85 or higher is required on the MPRE (75 points or greater for MPRE’s 

administered between January 1, 1999 and October 1, 2014). If you previously obtained a passing 

score, you must request a score transfer from the NCBE. If the date of the applicant’s first 

admission in any jurisdiction was prior to 1999, a certification by the applicant that they obtained 

a passing MPRE score in connection with that admission will suffice.  

ONCE YOUR APPLICATION HAS BEEN FILED 

When your application has been filed, you will receive a receipt from the Clerk’s office.  It is very 

important to use a mailing address where you regularly and reliably receive mail. Periodic e-mails 

will also be sent to the e-mail address on file for you.  

Once your application is filed, you have a continuing obligation to notify the Wyoming State Bar’s 

Admissions Director of any changes to your application.   This includes but is not limited to any 

change in name, residence, business address, telephone number, e-mail address, employment, or 

attorney membership status in any other jurisdiction. You are also obligated to inform the 

Admissions Director of any denial of admission in another jurisdiction, disciplinary action, 

involvement in any civil or criminal proceeding (including traffic violations), or the recurrence or 

development of any illness or condition which would have a bearing on your fitness to practice 

law. Report these changes on the Amendment to Application form (available at 

www.courts.state.wy.us ) and submit it to the Wyoming State Bar.  You may also be required to 

submit an amendment to the NCBE character report; that form is available at www.ncbex.org. 

  

http://www.courts.state.wy.us/
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QUESTIONS AND ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

I want my application to be filed, what are some common mistakes that prevent filing? 

Number one, by far, is the failure to submit a Certificate of Good Standing from a jurisdiction’s 

highest court. Letters of Disciplinary History from a State Bar are not substitutes.  

Submitting an incomplete NCBE Character and Fitness Application or not submitting one at all. 

Submitting photocopies of forms instead of the originals.  

Not using the Checklist provided to assure a complete application is being submitted. 

If I am applying for admission to another state, can I get a copy of my application?  

Yes, you may request a copy of your original application.  Please contact Cathy Duncil, Admissions 

Director at (307) 432-2105 or by e-mail at cduncil@wyomingbar.org.   

If I graduated from a non-ABA accredited law school, is admission by Military Spouse 

allowed?  

No.  In addition to the Rules Governing Admission to the Practice of Law requirement that an 

applicant has graduated from an ABA accredited school with a J.D., Wyoming Statute §33-5-105 

also requires graduation from an ABA accredited school with a juris doctorate.  

What if I have questions not addressed in the Questions and Additional Information? 

Questions regarding application documents and filing the application? Please contact the Clerk of 

the Wyoming Supreme Court at (307) 777-7316.  

Questions regarding the administration of the exam or admission process? Please contact Cathy 

Duncil, Admissions Director, Wyoming State Bar at (307) 432-2105 or by e-mail at 

cduncil@wyomingbar.org.  
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