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Rule 1. (Effective until February 1, 2021) General principles and
jurisdiction.

(a) Definitions. The following definitions shall apply in all fee arbitration proceed-
ings.

(1) “Chair” means the chairperson of the Fee Arbitration Committee, or the
Chair’s designee.

(2) “Client” means a person or entity who directly or through an authorized
representative consults, retains or secures legal services or advice from a lawyer in
the lawyer’s professional capacity.

(3) “Committee” means the Fee Arbitration Committee.

(4) “Decision” means the determination made by the panel in a fee arbitration
proceeding.

(5) “Lawyer” means a person admitted to the practice of law in Wyoming, or any
other person who appears, participates or otherwise engages in the practice of law
in this state, regardless of the status of his or her license. In these rules, the term
“lawyer” includes a lawyer’s assignee.

(6) “Panel” means the arbitrator(s) assigned to hear a fee dispute and to issue a
decision.

(7) “Party” means the client, lawyer, the lawyer’s assignee and any third person
or entity who has been joined by the client or lawyer in the proceeding.

(8) “Petition” means a written request for fee arbitration in a form approved by
the Committee.

(9) “Petitioner” means the party requesting fee arbitration.

(10) “Respondent” means the party with whom the Petitioner has a fee dispute.

(b) Establishment; Purpose. It is the Wyoming Supreme Court’s policy to encourage
the informal resolution of fee disputes between lawyers who practice law in Wyoming
and their clients and, in the event such informal resolution cannot be achieved, to
provide for the arbitration of such disputes. To that end, the Wyoming Supreme Court
hereby establishes through adoption of these rules, a program and procedures for the
arbitration of disputes concerning any and all fees and/or costs paid, charged, or
claimed for professional services by lawyers.
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Rule 1 WYOMING COURT RULES 2

(c) Arbitration Mandatory for Lawyers. Fee arbitration pursuant to these rules is
voluntary for clients and mandatory for lawyers if timely commenced by a client in
accordance with these rules.

(d) Effect of Arbitration.

(1) The Fee Arbitration is final and binding where all parties have agreed in
writing that it will be binding.

(2) In the absence of a written agreement to be bound by the arbitration, the
decision automatically becomes binding, unless, as permitted under Rule 7(b), any
party seeks a trial de novo pursuant to the Wyoming Rules of Civil Procedure
within 30 days after service of the decision. This 30 day time period shall not be
extended by an application for modification under these rules.

(3) After all parties have agreed in writing to be bound by an arbitration award,
a party may not withdraw from that agreement unless all parties agree to the
withdrawal in writing. At any time during the proceedings, the parties may agree
in writing to be bound by the decision.

(e) Jurisdiction. Any lawyer, as defined in Rule 1(a)(6), is subject to these rules for fee
arbitration.

(f) Disputes Not Subject to Arbitration. These rules do not apply to the following:

(1) Disputes where the lawyer is also admitted to practice in another jurisdic-
tion, the lawyer maintains no office in Wyoming, the legal services rendered did not
require membership in the Wyoming State Bar;

(2) Disputes where the client seeks affirmative relief for damages against the
lawyer based upon alleged malpractice or professional misconduct;

(3) Disputes where entitlement to and the amount of the fees and/or costs
charged or paid to a lawyer by the client or on the client’s behalf have been
determined by statute, court order, rule, or decision;

(4) Disputes where a third person is responsible for payment of the fees and the
client fails to join in the request for arbitration; and

(5) Disputes where the request for arbitration is filed more than one year after
the lawyer-client relationship has been terminated or more than one year after the
final billing has been received by the client, whichever is later, unless a civil action
concerning the disputed amount is later brought by the lawyer, in which case the
client shall have 30 days after service of the notice required by Rule 1(g) to file a
Petition for Fee Arbitration.

(g) Notice of Right to Arbitration; Stay of Proceedings; Waiver by Client.

(1) Prior to or at the time of service of a summons in a civil action against his or
her client for the recovery of fees, costs, or both for professional services rendered,
a lawyer shall serve upon the client by certified mail return receipt requested a
written notice of the client’s right to arbitrate. The notice shall include a provision
advising the client that failure to file a Petition for Fee Arbitration within 30 days
of service of notice of the right to arbitrate shall constitute a waiver of the right to
arbitrate. Failure to give this notice shall be grounds for dismissal of the civil
action.

(2) If a lawyer commences a fee collection action in any court, the court shall
issue an order of stay upon the client giving notice to the court and the lawyer that
a Petition for Arbitration was filed with the Committee within 30 days of service of
the notice of the right to arbitrate.

(3) After a client files a Petition, the lawyer shall refrain from any non-judicial
collection activities related to the fees and/or costs in dispute pending the outcome
of the arbitration.

(4) Unless all parties agree in writing to the arbitration, the right of the client to
petition or maintain an arbitration is waived if:

(1) the client fails to file a Petition for Arbitration within 30 days of service
of the notice of right to arbitrate pursuant to these rules; or
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(i1) the client commences or maintains a civil action or files any pleading
seeking judicial resolution of the fee dispute, or seeking affirmative relief
against the lawyer for damages based upon alleged malpractice.

(h) Obligation to Report Lawyer Misconduct. A lawyer member of the Committee or
of a panel who knows that another lawyer has committed a violation of the Rules of
Professional Conduct that raises a substantial question as to that lawyer’s honesty,
trustworthiness or fitness as a lawyer in other respects, shall inform the appropriate
professional authority. See Rule 8.3(a), Wyoming Rules of Professional Conduct.
(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016.)

Rule 1. (Effective February 1, 2021) General principles and jurisdic-
tion.

(a) Definitions. The following definitions shall apply in all fee arbitration proceed-
ings.

(1) “Administrator” means an employee of the Wyoming State Bar assigned to
staff the Fee Arbitration Program.

(2) “Chair” means the chairperson of the Fee Arbitration Committee, or the
Chair’s designee.

(3) “Client” means a person or entity who directly or through an authorized
representative consults, retains or secures legal services or advice from a lawyer in
the lawyer’s professional capacity.

(4) “Committee” means the Fee Arbitration Committee.

(5) “Decision” means the determination made by the panel in a fee arbitration
proceeding.

(6) “Final billing” means the last billing invoice on which a lawyer charges for
legal services or expenses. Subsequent billing invoices which only add accrued
interest are not a “final bill” for purposes of these rules.

(7) “Lawyer” means a person admitted to the practice of law in Wyoming, or any
other person who appears, participates or otherwise engages in the practice of law
in this state, regardless of the status of his or her license. In these rules, the term
“lawyer” includes a lawyer’s assignee.

(8) “Panel” means the arbitrator(s) assigned to hear a fee dispute and to issue a
decision.

(9) “Party” means the client, lawyer, the lawyer’s assignee and any third person
or entity who has been joined by the client or lawyer in the proceeding.

(10) “Petition” means a written request for fee arbitration in a form approved by
the Committee.

(11) “Petitioner” means the party requesting fee arbitration.

(12) “Respondent” means the party with whom the Petitioner has a fee dispute.

(b) Establishment; Purpose. It is the Wyoming Supreme Court’s policy to encourage
the informal resolution of fee disputes between lawyers who practice law in Wyoming
and their clients and, in the event such informal resolution cannot be achieved, to
provide for the arbitration of such disputes. To that end, the Wyoming Supreme Court
hereby establishes through adoption of these rules, a program and procedures for the
arbitration of disputes concerning any and all fees and/or costs paid, charged, or
claimed for professional services by lawyers.

(c) Arbitration Mandatory for Lawyers. Fee arbitration pursuant to these rules is
voluntary for clients and mandatory for lawyers if timely commenced by a client in
accordance with these rules.

(d) Effect of Arbitration.

(1) The Fee Arbitration is final and binding where all parties have agreed in
writing that it will be binding.
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(2) In the absence of a written agreement to be bound by the arbitration, the
decision automatically becomes binding, unless, as permitted under Rule 7(b), any
party seeks a trial de novo pursuant to the Wyoming Rules of Civil Procedure
within 30 days after service of the decision. This 30-day time period shall not be
extended by an application for modification under these rules.

(3) After all parties have agreed in writing to be bound by an arbitration award,
a party may not withdraw from that agreement unless all parties agree to the
withdrawal in writing. At any time during the proceedings, the parties may agree
in writing to be bound by the decision.

(e) Jurisdiction. Any lawyer, as defined in Rule 1(a)(7), is subject to these rules for fee
arbitration.
(f) Disputes Not Subject to Arbitration. These rules do not apply to the following:

(1) Disputes where the lawyer is also admitted to practice in another jurisdic-
tion, the lawyer maintains no office in Wyoming, the legal services rendered did not
require membership in the Wyoming State Bar;

(2) Disputes where the client seeks affirmative relief for damages against the
lawyer based upon alleged malpractice or professional misconduct;

(3) Disputes where entitlement to and the amount of the fees and/or costs
charged or paid to a lawyer by the client or on the client’s behalf have been
determined by statute, court order, rule, or decision;

(4) Disputes where a third person is responsible for payment of the fees and the
client fails to join in the request for arbitration;

(5) Disputes in which the result of the representation is the only issue;

(6) Disputes in which the amount in dispute is $500.00 or less; or

(7) Disputes where the request for arbitration is filed more than one year after
the lawyer-client relationship has been terminated or more than one year after the
final billing has been received by the client, whichever is later, unless a civil action
concerning the disputed amount is later brought by the lawyer, in which case the
client shall have 30 days after service of the notice required by Rule 1(g) to file a
Petition for Fee Arbitration.

(g) Notice of Right to Arbitration; Stay of Proceedings; Waiver by Client.

(1) Prior to or at the time of service of a summons in a civil action against his or
her client for the recovery of fees, costs, or both for professional services rendered,
a lawyer shall serve upon the client by certified mail return receipt requested a
written notice of the client’s right to arbitrate. The notice shall include a provision
advising the client that failure to file a Petition for Fee Arbitration within 30 days
of service of notice of the right to arbitrate shall constitute a waiver of the right to
arbitrate. Failure to give this notice shall be grounds for dismissal of the civil
action.

(2) If a lawyer commences a fee collection action in any court, the court shall
issue an order of stay upon the client giving notice to the court and the lawyer that
a Petition for Arbitration was filed with the Committee within 30 days of service of
the notice of the right to arbitrate.

(3) After a client files a Petition, the lawyer shall refrain from any non-judicial
collection activities related to the fees and/or costs in dispute pending the outcome
of the arbitration.

(4) Unless all parties agree in writing to the arbitration, the right of the client to
petition or maintain an arbitration is waived if:

(1) the client fails to file a Petition for Arbitration within 30 days of service
of the notice of right to arbitrate pursuant to these rules; or

(ii) the client commences or maintains a civil action or files any pleading
seeking judicial resolution of the fee dispute, or seeking affirmative relief
against the lawyer for damages based upon alleged malpractice.
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(h) Obligation to Report Lawyer Misconduct. A lawyer member of the Committee or
of a panel who knows that another lawyer has committed a violation of the Rules of
Professional Conduct that raises a substantial question as to that lawyer’s honesty,
trustworthiness or fitness as a lawyer in other respects, shall inform the appropriate
professional authority. See Rule 8.3(a), Wyoming Rules of Professional Conduct.
(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016; amended December 10, 2020, effective
February 1, 2021.)

Rule 2. (Effective until February 1, 2021) Fee arbitration committee.

(a) Appointment of Committee. The Court shall appoint a Fee Arbitration Committee
to administer the Fee Arbitration Program.

(b) Composition. The Committee shall consist of six members of whom two shall be
nonlawyers. Members shall be appointed for terms of three years or until a successor
has been appointed. Appointments shall be on a staggered basis so that the number of
terms expiring shall be approximately the same each year. No members shall be
appointed for more than two consecutive full terms, but members appointed for less
than a full term (either originally or to fill a vacancy) may serve two full terms in
addition to such part of a term. Each year the Committee shall designate one of the
lawyer members to serve as Chair.

(¢) Duties of the Committee. The Committee shall have the following powers and
duties:

(1) to appoint, remove and provide appropriate training for lawyer and nonlaw-
yer arbitrators and arbitration panels;

(2) to interpret these rules;

(3) to approve forms;

(4) to establish written procedures that afford a full and equal opportunity to all
parties to present relevant evidence;

(5) toissue an annual report and periodic policy recommendations, as needed, to
the Court regarding the program,;

(6) to maintain all records of the Fee Arbitration Program;

(7) to determine challenges for cause where an arbitrator has not voluntarily
acceded to a challenge;

(8) to educate the public and the bar about the Fee Arbitration Program; and

(9) to perform all acts necessary for the effective operation of the program.

(d) Committee Quorum. Three members including at least one nonlawyer member
shall constitute a quorum of the Committee.

(e) Reimbursement of Expenses. Members of the Committee shall be entitled to
reimbursement by the Wyoming State Bar for reasonable travel, meals, lodging and
other expenses incurred in the course of their official duties.

(f) Administrative Support. Wyoming State Bar staff shall be assigned to assist the
Committee. The assigned staff shall have such administrative responsibilities as may
be delegated by the Committee.

(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016.)

Rule 2. (Effective February 1, 2021) Fee arbitration committee.

(a) Appointment of Committee. The Court shall appoint a Fee Arbitration Committee
to administer the Fee Arbitration Program.

(b) Composition. The Committee shall consist of six members of whom two shall be
nonlawyers. Members shall be appointed for terms of three years or until a successor
has been appointed. Appointments shall be on a staggered basis so that the number of
terms expiring shall be approximately the same each year. No members shall be
appointed for more than two consecutive full terms, but members appointed for less
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than a full term (either originally or to fill a vacancy) may serve two full terms in
addition to such part of a term. Each year the Committee shall designate one of the
lawyer members to serve as Chair and one of the lawyer members to serve as Vice
Chair.

(¢) Duties of the Committee. The Committee shall have the following powers and
duties:

(1) to appoint, remove and provide appropriate training for lawyer and nonlaw-
yer arbitrators and arbitration panels;

(2) to interpret these rules;

(3) to approve forms;

(4) to establish written procedures that afford a full and equal opportunity to all
parties to present relevant evidence;

(5) toissue an annual report and periodic policy recommendations, as needed, to
the Court regarding the program;

(6) to maintain all records of the Fee Arbitration Program,;

(7) to determine challenges for cause where an arbitrator has not voluntarily
acceded to a challenge;

(8) to educate the public and the bar about the Fee Arbitration Program; and

(9) to perform all acts necessary for the effective operation of the program.

(d) Committee Quorum. Three members including at least one nonlawyer member
shall constitute a quorum of the Committee.

(e) Reimbursement of Expenses. Members of the Committee shall be entitled to
reimbursement by the Wyoming State Bar for reasonable travel, meals, lodging and
other expenses incurred in the course of their official duties.

(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016; amended December 10, 2020, effective
February 1, 2021.)

Rule 3. (Effective until February 1, 2021) Arbitrators.

(a) List of Approved Arbitrators. The Committee shall maintain a list of approved
arbitrators and shall adopt written standards for the appointment of the arbitrators.
Such standards should ensure appropriate training and experience for arbitrators as
well as diversity in the background and experience of the arbitrators. Arbitrators shall
be appointed for terms of three years and may be reappointed. For good cause, the
Committee may remove an arbitrator from the list of approved arbitrators, and may
appoint a replacement member to serve the balance of the term of the removed member.

(b) Panels. The Committee shall appoint panels from the list of approved arbitrators.
For disputes involving $10,000 or more, the panel shall consist of three arbitrators of
whom one shall be a nonlawyer member. For disputes involving less than $10,000, or in
any case if the parties so stipulate, the panel shall consist of a sole arbitrator who shall
be a lawyer. If the panel consists of three members, the Committee shall designate one
member to act as chair of the panel and to preside at the arbitration hearing.

(c) Conflicts of Interest. Within five days of the notification of appointment to a panel,
an arbitrator shall notify the Committee of any conflict of interest with a party to the
arbitration as defined in the Wyoming Code of Judicial Conduct with respect to
part-time judges. Upon notification of the conflict, the Committee shall appoint a
replacement from the list of approved arbitrators.

(d) Challenges for Cause. A party may challenge any arbitrator for cause. A challenge
for cause naming the arbitrator and the reason for the challenge shall be filed within 15
days after service of the notice of appointment. An arbitrator shall accede to a
reasonable challenge and the Committee shall appoint a replacement. If an arbitrator
does not voluntarily accede, the Committee shall decide whether to appoint a replace-
ment. The decision of the Committee on challenges shall be final.

(e) Duties. The panel shall have the following powers and duties:
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(1) to take and hear evidence pertaining to the proceeding;

(2) to administer oaths and affirmations;

(3) to compel, by subpoena, the attendance of witnesses and the production of
books, papers, and documents pertaining to the proceeding, and consider chal-
lenges to the validity of subpoenas;

(4) to issue decisions; and

(5) to perform all acts necessary to conduct an effective arbitration hearing.

(f) Reimbursement of Expenses. Arbitrators shall be entitled to reimbursement by
the Wyoming State Bar for reasonable travel, meals, lodging and other expenses
incurred in the course of their official duties.

(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016.)

Rule 3. (Effective February 1, 2021) Arbitrators.

(a) List of Approved Arbitrators. The Administrator shall maintain a list of approved
arbitrators, and the Committee shall adopt written standards for the appointment of
the arbitrators. Such standards should ensure appropriate training and experience for
arbitrators as well as diversity in the background and experience of the arbitrators.
Arbitrators shall be appointed for terms of three years and may be reappointed. For
good cause, the Committee may remove an arbitrator from the list of approved
arbitrators, and may appoint a replacement member to serve the balance of the term of
the removed member.

(b) Panels. The Administrator shall appoint panels from the list of approved
arbitrators. For disputes involving $10,000 or more, the panel shall consist of three
arbitrators of whom one shall be a nonlawyer member. For disputes involving less than
$10,000, or in any case if the parties so stipulate, the panel shall consist of a sole
arbitrator who shall be a lawyer. If the panel consists of three members, the
Administrator shall designate one member to act as chair of the panel and to preside at
the arbitration hearing.

(¢) Conflicts of Interest. Within five days of the notification of appointment to a panel,
an arbitrator shall notify the Administrator of any conflict of interest with a party to the
arbitration as defined in the Wyoming Code of Judicial Conduct with respect to
part-time judges. Upon notification of the conflict, the Administrator shall appoint a
replacement from the list of approved arbitrators.

(d) Challenges for Cause. A party may challenge any arbitrator for cause. A challenge
for cause naming the arbitrator and the reason for the challenge shall be filed within 15
days after service of the notice of appointment. An arbitrator shall accede to a
reasonable challenge and the Administrator shall appoint a replacement. If an
arbitrator does not voluntarily accede, the Chair shall decide whether to appoint a
replacement. The decision of the Chair on challenges shall be final.

(e) Duties. The panel shall have the following powers and duties:

(1) to take and hear evidence pertaining to the proceeding;

(2) to administer oaths and affirmations;

(3) to compel, by subpoena, the attendance of witnesses and the production of
books, papers, and documents pertaining to the proceeding, and consider chal-
lenges to the validity of subpoenas;

(4) to issue decisions; and

(5) to perform all acts necessary to conduct an effective arbitration hearing.

(f) Reimbursement of Expenses. Arbitrators shall be entitled to reimbursement by
the Wyoming State Bar for reasonable travel, meals, lodging and other expenses
incurred in the course of their official duties.

(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016; amended December 10, 2020, effective
February 1, 2021.)
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Rule 4. (Effective until February 1, 2021) Commencement of proceed-
ings.

(a) Petition to Arbitrate. A fee arbitration proceeding shall commence with the filing
of a Petition for Arbitration on a form approved by the Committee. Any person who is
not the client of the lawyer but who has paid or may be liable for the lawyer’s fees may
consent to be joined by the client as a party to the arbitration. A Petition for Arbitration
brought by a client must be signed by the client and any other party included by the
client, and shall be filed with the Wyoming State Bar, P.O. Box 109, Cheyenne, Wyoming
82003.

(b) Committee Review. Within 10 days of receipt of the Petition, the Chair will review
the Petition to determine if it is properly completed and if the Committee has
jurisdiction. If the Petition is not properly completed, the Chair will return it to the
Petitioner and specify what clarification or additional information is required. If the
Committee does not have jurisdiction, the Petitioner shall be so advised.

(c) Service of Petition; Response. Within five days of the determination that the
Committee has jurisdiction, a copy of the Petition, and opening letter shall be served on
the Respondent by certified mail, return receipt requested. A copy of the Petition for
Arbitration and opening letter shall also be served upon the law firm, if any, with which
a lawyer-party is associated. Within 20 days after receipt of the Petition and opening
letter, the Respondent shall file a response with the Committee at the office of the
Wyoming State Bar which shall forward a copy to all other parties and the Chair.

(d) Failure of a Lawyer Respondent to Respond. Failure of a lawyer Respondent to
file the Fee Arbitration Response Form shall not delay the scheduling of a hearing;
however, in any such case the panel may, in its discretion, refuse to consider evidence
offered by the lawyer which would reasonably be expected to have been disclosed in the
response.

(e) Client Consent Required. If a lawyer files a Petition for Arbitration, the arbitra-
tion shall proceed only if the client files a written consent within 20 days of receipt of
the Petition and opening letter.

(f) Informal Resolution. The Chair shall review the Petition and Response and
determine whether informal resolution should be attempted. If it appears that the
dispute might be resolved by informal contact with Petitioner and Respondent, the
Chair shall contact the parties to explore the possibility of an informal resolution of the
dispute. If an informal resolution is attained, an order embracing the terms of the
informal resolution shall be prepared by the Chair and transmitted to the parties.

(g) Appointment of Panel. If the Chair determines that an attempt at informal
resolution would be ineffectual, or if an attempt at informal resolution is unsuccessful
within 21 days after receipt of the Response to the Petition, then the Chair shall appoint
a panel and mail to the parties written notification of the name(s) of the panel
member(s) assigned to hear the matter. A copy of the written notification shall be mailed
to the panel member(s).

(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016.)

Rule 4. (Effective February 1, 2021) Commencement of proceedings.

(a) Petition to Arbitrate. A fee arbitration proceeding shall commence with the filing
of a Petition for Arbitration on a form approved by the Committee. Any person who is
not the client of the lawyer but who has paid or may be liable for the lawyer’s fees may
consent to be joined by the client as a party to the arbitration. A Petition for Arbitration
brought by a client must be signed by the client and any other party included by the
client, and shall be filed with the Wyoming State Bar, P.O. Box 109, Cheyenne, Wyoming
82003.

(b) Committee Review. Within 14 days of receipt of the Petition, the Chair will review
the Petition to determine if it is properly completed and if the Committee has
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jurisdiction. If the Petition is not properly completed, the Chair will return it to the
Petitioner and specify what clarification or additional information is required. If the
Committee does not have jurisdiction, the Petitioner shall be so advised. A copy of the
petition and the determination that the Committee lacks jurisdiction shall be provided
to the Respondent.

(c) Service of Petition. Within 14 days of the determination that the Committee has
jurisdiction, a copy of the Petition, and opening letter shall be served on the Respondent
by certified mail, return receipt requested. A copy of the Petition for Arbitration and
opening letter shall also be served upon the law firm, if any, with which a lawyer-party
is associated.

(d) Response to Petition. Within 21 days after receipt of the Petition and opening
letter, the Respondent shall file a response with the Administrator at the office of the
Wyoming State Bar which shall forward a copy to all other parties.

(e) Failure of a Lawyer Respondent to Respond. Failure of a lawyer Respondent to
file a response to the Petition shall not delay the scheduling of a hearing; however, in
any such case the panel may, in its discretion, refuse to consider evidence offered by the
lawyer which would reasonably be expected to have been disclosed in the response.

(f) Client Consent Required. If a lawyer files a Petition for Fee Arbitration, the
arbitration shall proceed only if the client returns a signed election to participate in
arbitration within 21 days of receipt of the Petition and opening letter.

(g) Informal Resolution. The Chair or designee shall review the Petition and
Response and determine whether informal resolution should be attempted. If it appears
that the dispute might be resolved by informal contact with Petitioner and Respondent,
the Chair or designee shall contact the parties to explore the possibility of an informal
resolution of the dispute. If an informal resolution is attained, an order embracing the
terms of the informal resolution shall be prepared by the Chair or designee and
transmitted to the parties.

(h) Appointment of Panel. If the Chair or designee determines that an attempt at
informal resolution would be ineffectual, or if an attempt at informal resolution is
unsuccessful within 30 days after receipt of the Response to the Petition, then the Chair
or designee shall notify the parties that the matter is being referred for an arbitration
hearing. In that event, the Administrator shall appoint a panel and mail to the parties
written notification of the name(s) of the panel member(s) assigned to hear the matter.
A copy of the written notification shall be mailed to the panel member(s).

(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016; amended December 10, 2020, effective
February 1, 2021.)

Rule 5. (Effective until February 1, 2021) Hearing.

(a) Notice of Hearing. The panel shall set the date, time and place for the hearing.
The panel shall send notice of the hearing to the parties not less than 30 but no more
than 60 days in advance of the hearing date, unless otherwise agreed by the parties. To
the extent feasible, the hearing shall be held no more than 90 days after the written
notification of panel assignment required by Rule 4(g).

(b) Representation by Counsel. Any party may be represented by counsel.

(¢c) Recording of Proceedings. A party to the proceedings may make arrangements to
have the hearing reported at the party’s own expense, provided notice is given to the
other parties and the panel at least five days prior to the scheduled hearing. If a party
orders a transcript, that party shall provide a copy of the transcript to the panel free of
charge. Any other party is entitled at his or her own expense to acquire a copy of the
transcript by making arrangements directly with the reporter. A panel, in its discretion,
may make arrangements to have a hearing reported and the parties may obtain a copy
at their own expense.

(d) Continuances. For good cause shown, a panel may continue a hearing upon the
written request of a party or upon the panel’s own motion.
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(e) Oaths and Affirmations. The testimony of witnesses shall be by oath or affirma-
tion.

(f) Panel Quorums. All three arbitrators shall be required for a quorum where the
panel consists of three members. A panel of three arbitrators shall act with the
concurrence of at least two arbitrators.

(g) Appearance; Failure of a Party to Appear. At the panel’s discretion, a party may
be permitted to appear by telephonic conference call, video conference, computer-
facilitated conference, or similar telecommunications equipment, provided all persons
participating in the hearing can simultaneously hear each other during the hearing.
Appearance by a party at a scheduled hearing shall constitute waiver by said party of
any deficiency with respect to the giving of notice of hearing. The panel may proceed in
the absence of any party or representative who, after due notice, fails either to be
present or to obtain a continuance. A decision shall not be made solely on the default of
a party. The panel shall require parties who are present to submit such evidence as the
panel may require to issue a decision.

(h) Waiver of Personal Appearance. Any party may waive personal appearance and
submit testimony and exhibits by written declaration under oath to the panel. Such
declarations shall be filed with the panel at least 10 days prior to the hearing. If all
parties, in writing, waive appearances at a hearing, the matter may be decided on the
basis of written submissions. If the panel concludes that oral presentations are
necessary, the panel may schedule a hearing.

(i) Testimony. At the panel’s discretion, a witness may be permitted to testify by
affidavit, deposition, telephonic conference call, video conference, computer-facilitated
conference, or similar telecommunications equipment.

(j) Stipulations. Agreements between the parties as to issues not in dispute and the
voluntary exchange of documents prior to the hearing are encouraged.

(k) Evidence. The panel shall accept such evidence as is relevant and material to the
dispute and request additional evidence as necessary to understand and resolve the
dispute. The Wyoming Rules of Evidence need not be strictly followed. The parties shall
be entitled to be heard, to present evidence and to cross-examine parties and witnesses.
The panel shall judge the weight, competence, credibility, relevance and materiality of
the evidence.

() Subpoenas. Upon request of a party and for good cause shown, or on its own
initiative, the panel may issue subpoenas for witnesses or documents necessary to a
resolution of the dispute. The requesting party shall be responsible for service of the
subpoenas.

(m) Reopening of Hearing. For good cause shown or upon its own initiative, the panel
may reopen the hearing at any time before a decision is issued.

(n) Death or Incompetency of a Party. In the event of death or incompetency of a
party, the personal representative of the deceased party or the guardian or conservator
of the incompetent may be substituted.

(o) Burden of Proof. The burden of proof shall be on the lawyer to prove the
reasonableness of the fee, as required by Rule 1.5 of the Wyoming Rules of Professional
Conduct, by a preponderance of the evidence.

(p) Discovery. Upon the written request of a party or the panel’s own motion,
discovery may be allowed to the extent deemed necessary by the panel at its sole
discretion. Any request for discovery shall be submitted at least 30 days prior to a
scheduled hearing.

(Added May 10, 20186, effective October 1, 2016.)

Rule 5. (Effective February 1, 2021) Hearing.

(a) Notice of Hearing. The panel shall set the date, time and place for the hearing at
a mutually agreeable location. The panel shall send notice of the hearing to the parties



11 FEE ARBITRATION Rule 5

not less than 14 but no more than 30 days in advance of the hearing date, unless the
notice requirement is waived by the parties. To the extent feasible, the hearing shall be
held no more than 90 days after the written notification of panel assignment required
by Rule 4(h).

(b) Representation by Counsel. Any party may be represented by counsel.

(¢c) Recording of Proceedings. A party to the proceedings may make arrangements to
have the hearing reported at the party’s own expense, provided notice is given to the
other parties and the panel at least five days prior to the scheduled hearing. If a party
orders a transcript, that party shall provide a copy of the transcript to the panel free of
charge. Any other party is entitled at his or her own expense to acquire a copy of the
transcript by making arrangements directly with the reporter. A panel, in its discretion,
may make arrangements to have a hearing reported and the parties may obtain a copy
at their own expense.

(d) Continuances. For good cause shown, a panel may continue a hearing upon the
written request of a party or upon the panel’s own motion.

(e) Oaths and Affirmations. The testimony of witnesses shall be by oath or affirma-
tion.

(f) Panel Quorums. All three arbitrators shall be required for a quorum where the
panel consists of three members. A panel of three arbitrators shall act with the
concurrence of at least two arbitrators.

(g) Appearance; Failure of a Party to Appear. At the panel’s discretion, a party may
be permitted to appear by telephonic conference call, video conference, computer-
facilitated conference, or similar telecommunications equipment, provided all persons
participating in the hearing can simultaneously hear each other during the hearing.
Appearance by a party at a scheduled hearing shall constitute waiver by said party of
any deficiency with respect to the giving of notice of hearing. The panel may proceed in
the absence of any party or representative who, after due notice, fails either to be
present or to obtain a continuance. A decision shall not be made solely on the default of
a party. The panel shall require parties who are present to submit such evidence as the
panel may require to issue a decision.

(h) Waiver of Personal Appearance. Any party may waive personal appearance and
submit testimony and exhibits by written declaration under oath to the panel. Such
declarations shall be filed with the panel at least 10 days prior to the hearing. If all
parties, in writing, waive appearances at a hearing, the matter may be decided on the
basis of written submissions. If the panel concludes that oral presentations are
necessary, the panel may schedule a hearing.

(i) Testimony. At the panel’s discretion, a witness may be permitted to testify by
affidavit, deposition, telephonic conference call, video conference, computer-facilitated
conference, or similar telecommunications equipment.

(j) Stipulations. Agreements between the parties as to issues not in dispute and the
voluntary exchange of documents prior to the hearing are encouraged.

(k) Evidence. The panel shall accept such evidence as is relevant and material to the
dispute and request additional evidence as necessary to understand and resolve the
dispute. The Wyoming Rules of Evidence need not be strictly followed. The parties shall
be entitled to be heard, to present evidence and to cross-examine parties and witnesses.
The panel shall judge the weight, competence, credibility, relevance and materiality of
the evidence.

() Subpoenas. Upon request of a party and for good cause shown, or on its own
initiative, the panel may issue subpoenas for witnesses or documents necessary to a
resolution of the dispute. The requesting party shall be responsible for service of the
subpoenas.

(m) Reopening of Hearing. For good cause shown or upon its own initiative, the panel
may reopen the hearing at any time before a decision is issued.
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(n) Death or Incompetency of a Party. In the event of death or incompetency of a
party, the personal representative of the deceased party or the guardian or conservator
of the incompetent may be substituted.

(o) Burden of Proof. The burden of proof shall be on the lawyer to prove the
reasonableness of the fee, as required by Rule 1.5 of the Wyoming Rules of Professional
Conduct, by a preponderance of the evidence.

(p) Discovery. Upon the written request of a party or the panel’s own motion,
discovery may be allowed to the extent deemed necessary by the panel at its sole
discretion. Any request for discovery shall be submitted at least 30 days prior to a
scheduled hearing.

(q) Settlement. If the parties reach a settlement during the hearing, the arbitrator
shall draft a settlement agreement to memorialize the parties’ agreement and have the
parties sign the agreement. The arbitrator shall submit the executed settlement
agreement to the Administrator who shall provide copies to the parties.

(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016; amended December 10, 2020, effective
February 1, 2021.)

Rule 6. (Effective until February 1, 2021) Decision.

(a) Form of Decision. The panel’s decision shall be in writing and shall include a clear
statement of the amount in dispute, whether and to whom monies are due, and a brief
explanation of the decision.

(b) Issuance of Decision. The panel shall make all reasonable efforts to render its
decision promptly and not later than 30 days from the close of the hearing or from the
end of any time period permitted by the panel for the filing of supplemental briefs or
other materials. The arbitrator or panel chair shall forward the decision to the
Committee which shall serve a copy of the decision on each party to the arbitration.

(¢) Modification of Decision.

(1) On application to the panel by a party to a fee dispute, the panel may modify
or correct a decision if:

(i) there was an error in the computation of figures or a mistake in the
description of a person, thing, or property referred to in the decision;

(i) the decision is imperfect in a matter of form not affecting the merits of
the proceeding; or

(iii) the decision needs clarification.

(2) Any party may file an application for modification with the panel within 20
days after service of the decision and shall serve a copy of the application on all
other parties. An objection to the application must be filed with the panel within
10 days after service of the application for modification.

(3) An application for modification shall not extend the 30 day time period to
seek trial de novo under these rules.

(d) Retention of Files. The Committee shall maintain all fee arbitration files for a
period of three years from the date a decision is issued.

(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016.)

Rule 6. (Effective February 1, 2021) Decision.

(a) Form of Decision. The panel’s decision shall be in writing and shall include a clear
statement of the amount in dispute, whether and to whom monies are due, and a brief
explanation of the decision. If the matter is not one in which the parties have agreed to
binding arbitration, the written decision shall state that the decision will become
binding within 30 days of the date it is served upon the parties, unless a trial de novo
is sought in accordance with these rules.

(b) Issuance of Decision. The panel shall make all reasonable efforts to render its
decision promptly and not later than 30 days from the close of the hearing or from the
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end of any time period permitted by the panel for the filing of supplemental briefs or

other materials. The arbitrator or panel chair shall forward the decision to the

Committee which shall serve a copy of the decision on each party to the arbitration.
(¢) Modification of Decision.

(1) On application to the panel by a party to a fee dispute, the panel may modify
or correct a decision if:

(i) there was an error in the computation of figures or a mistake in the
description of a person, thing, or property referred to in the decision;

(i1) the decision is imperfect in a matter of form not affecting the merits of
the proceeding; or

(iii) the decision needs clarification.

(2) Any party may file an application for modification with the panel within 20
days after service of the decision and shall serve a copy of the application on all
other parties. An objection to the application must be filed with the panel within
10 days after service of the application for modification.

(3) An application for modification shall not extend the 30 day time period to
seek trial de novo under these rules.

(d) Retention of Files. The Committee shall maintain all fee arbitration files for a
period of three years from the date a decision is issued.
(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016; amended December 10, 2020, effective
February 1, 2021.)

Rule 7. (Effective until February 1, 2021) Effect of decision; enforce-
ment.

(a) Compliance with Decision.

(1) Where the parties have agreed to be bound by the arbitration or have settled
the dispute, the parties shall have 30 days from service of the written decision or
the date the stipulation of settlement is signed by the parties to comply with the
decision or settlement unless the written decision expressly provides otherwise.

(2) Where there is no agreement to be bound by the arbitration, any party is
entitled to a trial de novo if sought within 30 days from service of the written
decision, except that if a party willfully fails to appear at the arbitration hearing in
the manner set forth in Rule 5(g) and (h), that party shall not be entitled to a trial
de novo. The determination of willfulness shall be made by the court. The party
who failed to appear at the arbitration shall have the burden of proving that the
failure to appear was not willful. In making its determination, the court may
consider any findings made by the arbitrators on the subject of a party’s failure to
appear. If a trial de novo is not sought within 30 days, the decision becomes
binding.

(b) Trial De Novo.

(1) If there is an action pending, the trial de novo shall be initiated by filing a
rejection of arbitration award and request for trial in that action within 30 days
from service of the written decision.

(2) If no action is pending, the trial de novo shall be initiated by the commence-
ment of an action in the court having jurisdiction over the amount in controversy
within 30 days from the service of the written decision.

(3) The party seeking a trial de novo shall be the prevailing party if that party
obtains a judgment more favorable than that provided by the arbitration award,
and in all other cases the other party shall be the prevailing party. The prevailing
party may, in the discretion of the court, be entitled to an allowance for reasonable
attorney’s fees and costs incurred in the trial de novo, which allowance shall be
fixed by the court. In fixing the attorney’s fees, the court shall consider the decision
and determinations of the arbitrators, in addition to any other relevant evidence.
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(4) Except as provided in this rule, the decision and determinations of the
arbitrators shall not be admissible in any action or proceeding and shall not
operate as collateral estoppel or res judicata. Arbitrators shall not be called as
witnesses.

(c) Petition to Confirm, Correct, or Vacate the Decision.

(1) If a civil action has been stayed pursuant to these rules, any petition to
confirm, correct, or vacate the decision shall be filed with the court in which the
action is pending, and shall be served in accordance with the Wyoming Rules of
Civil Procedure.

(2) Ifno action is pending in any court, the decision may be confirmed, corrected,
or vacated by petition to the court having jurisdiction over the amount of the
decision, in accordance with the Wyoming Rules of Civil Procedure.

(3) A court confirming, correcting or vacating a decision under these rules may
award to the prevailing party reasonable fees and costs including, if applicable, fees
or costs on appeal, incurred in obtaining confirmation, correction or vacation of the
award. The party obtaining judgment confirming, correcting, or vacating the
decision shall be the prevailing party except that, without regard or consideration
of who the prevailing party may be, if a party did not appear at the arbitration
hearing in the matter provided by these rules, that party shall not be entitled to
attorney’s fees or costs upon confirmation, correction, or vacation of the award.

(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016.)

Rule 7. (Effective February 1, 2021) Effect of decision; enforcement.

(a) Compliance with Decision.

(1) Where the parties have agreed to be bound by the arbitration or have settled
the dispute, the parties shall have 30 days from service of the written decision or
the date the stipulation of settlement is signed by the parties to comply with the
decision or settlement unless the written decision expressly provides otherwise.
The parties will notify the Administrator that they have complied with the decision.

(2) Where there is no agreement to be bound by the arbitration, any party is
entitled to a trial de novo if sought within 30 days from service of the written
decision, except that if a party willfully fails to appear at the arbitration hearing in
the manner set forth in Rule 5(g) and (h), that party shall not be entitled to a trial
de novo. The determination of willfulness shall be made by the court. The party
who failed to appear at the arbitration shall have the burden of proving that the
failure to appear was not willful. In making its determination, the court may
consider any findings made by the arbitrators on the subject of a party’s failure to
appear. If a trial de novo is not sought within 30 days, the decision becomes
binding.

(3) If within 30 days of service of the written decision a lawyer Respondent
against whom an arbitration award is rendered has not commenced proceedings for
a trial de novo and has failed to comply with the written decision, the matter will
be referred to the Office of Bar Counsel for investigation pursuant to the Wyoming
Rules of Disciplinary Procedure.

(b) Trial De Novo.

(1) If there is an action pending, the trial de novo shall be initiated by filing a
rejection of arbitration award and request for trial in that action within 30 days
from service of the written decision.

(2) Ifno action is pending, the trial de novo shall be initiated by the commence-
ment of an action in the court having jurisdiction over the amount in controversy
within 30 days from the service of the written decision.

(3) The party seeking a trial de novo shall be the prevailing party if that party
obtains a judgment more favorable than that provided by the arbitration award,



15 FEE ARBITRATION Rule 9

and in all other cases the other party shall be the prevailing party. The prevailing
party may, in the discretion of the court, be entitled to an allowance for reasonable
attorney’s fees and costs incurred in the trial de novo, which allowance shall be
fixed by the court. In fixing the attorney’s fees, the court shall consider the decision
and determinations of the arbitrators, in addition to any other relevant evidence.

(4) Except as provided in this rule, the decision and determinations of the
arbitrators shall not be admissible in any action or proceeding and shall not
operate as collateral estoppel or res judicata. Arbitrators shall not be called as
witnesses.

(c) Petition to Confirm, Correct, or Vacate the Decision.

(1) If a civil action has been stayed pursuant to these rules, any petition to
confirm, correct, or vacate the decision shall be filed with the court in which the
action is pending, and shall be served in accordance with the Wyoming Rules of
Civil Procedure.

(2) Ifno action is pending in any court, the decision may be confirmed, corrected,
or vacated by petition to the court having jurisdiction over the amount of the
decision, in accordance with the Wyoming Rules of Civil Procedure.

(3) A court confirming, correcting or vacating a decision under these rules may
award to the prevailing party reasonable fees and costs including, if applicable, fees
or costs on appeal, incurred in obtaining confirmation, correction or vacation of the
award. The party obtaining judgment confirming, correcting, or vacating the
decision shall be the prevailing party except that, without regard or consideration
of who the prevailing party may be, if a party did not appear at the arbitration
hearing in the matter provided by these rules, that party shall not be entitled to
attorney’s fees or costs upon confirmation, correction, or vacation of the award.

(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016; amended December 10, 2020, effective
February 1, 2021.)

Rule 8. Confidentiality.

(a) Confidentiality of Proceedings. Except as may be otherwise necessary for compli-
ance with these rules or to take ancillary legal action with respect thereto, all records,
documents, files, proceedings and hearings pertaining to the arbitration of any dispute
under these rules shall be confidential and will be closed to the public, unless ordered
open by a court upon good cause shown, except that a summary of the facts, without
reference to the parties by name, may be publicized in all cases once the proceeding has
been formally closed.

(b) Confidentiality of Information. A lawyer may reveal information relating to the
representation of the client to the extent necessary to establish his or her fee claim or
to defend against a client’s claim. In no event shall such disclosure be deemed a waiver
of the confidential character of such matters for any other purpose.

(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016.)

Rule 9. Immunity.

(a) Parties and Witnesses. Parties and witnesses shall have such immunity as is
applicable in a civil action.

(b) Committee members; Arbitrators; Staff. Members of the Committee, panels and
staff shall be immune from suit for any conduct in the course and scope of their official
duties.

(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016.)
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Rule 10. (Effective until February 1, 2021) Filing and service.

(a) Method. All documents shall be filed with the Committee at the office of the
Wyoming State Bar, P.O. Box 109, Cheyenne, Wyoming 82003. Concurrent with filing a
document other than the original Petition for Arbitration, the party filing the document
shall serve a complete copy of the document by mailing it to all other parties at the
mailing address last given to the Committee.

(b) Official Address of Lawyer. Service on an individual lawyer shall be at the latest
address shown on the official membership records of the Wyoming State Bar. Service on
a law firm shall be at the address as shown in the Petition for Arbitration Form unless
the law firm designates a lawyer to be responsible for the arbitration, in which case,
service shall be at the designee’s latest address shown on the official membership
records of the Wyoming State Bar. Service shall be in accordance with Rule 10(a) above.

(c) Service on Represented Parties. If either party is represented by counsel, service
shall be on the party’s counsel at the latest address shown on the official membership
records of the Wyoming State Bar.

(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016.)

Rule 10. (Effective February 1, 2021) Filing and service.

(a) Method. All documents shall be filed with the Administrator at the office of the
Wyoming State Bar, P.O. Box 109, Cheyenne, Wyoming 82003. Concurrent with filing a
document other than the original Petition for Arbitration, the party filing the document
shall serve a complete copy of the document by mailing it to all other parties at the
mailing address last given to the Administrator.

(b) Official Address of Lawyer. Service on an individual lawyer shall be at the latest
address shown on the official membership records of the Wyoming State Bar. Service on
a law firm shall be at the address as shown in the Petition for Arbitration Form unless
the law firm designates a lawyer to be responsible for the arbitration, in which case,
service shall be at the designee’s latest address shown on the official membership
records of the Wyoming State Bar. Service shall be in accordance with Rule 10(a) above.

(c) Service on Represented Parties. If either party is represented by counsel, service
shall be on the party’s counsel at the latest address shown on the official membership
records of the Wyoming State Bar.

(Added May 10, 2016, effective October 1, 2016; amended December 10, 2020, effective
February 1, 2021.)

Rule 11. (Effective February 1, 2021) Citation to these rules.

These rules shall be known as the Wyoming Rules for Fee Arbitration and cited as
W.R.Fee.Arb.
(Added effective February 1, 2021.)



